footkillo.blogg.se

Pimsleur german notes
Pimsleur german notes













pimsleur german notes

The best way to memorize is not to just repeat things over and over, but to connect them to other relevant/interesting things. However, I wish that the author really made a point of illustrating scenarios, so we have something to relate our learning to, and keep us entertained. Above all, I really appreciated the way the author made it so so easy and simple to understand the nuts and bolts of German. You don't need to focus much, but let's just say, it's good listening when you want to fall asleep. This is great if you are lazy but have a good attention span. That is really the only positive.Īchtung! This is not great if you already know a lot of German, as it's very repetitive. The explanation of the relationship between English and German is very interesting. In my opinion, if you cant understand even the subject and the object of a sentence then you are never going to be able to get very far with German grammar which means you just arent going to be able to get very far with German. He spends so much time waffling because he doesn't want to use the words "subject" and "object". I got six hours in and decided it was a waste of my time as I am not a beginner. But this audiobook is really just a dumbed down version of beginner lessons padded out at half-pace with plenty of repetition (good for beginners) and waffle (not good for anybody). That is fantastic marketing for selling books and courses to people who aspire to learning a language.

pimsleur german notes

Paul Noble seems to be marketed online as the solution to all the challenges that come with learning a language. I can imagine this book is good for absolute beginners who lack confidence and want to get a toe hold in the German language. This is just the first few lessons at half-pace I would like a more advanced course to follow on. If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be? Which character – as performed by Paul Noble – was your favourite? I found myself able to speak more confidently in every day situations (we spend quite a bit of time in German and North Italy). However, Paul Noble's course helped me put all those words into sentences, make sense of sentence structure, so that I can take any new words and use them. I did know quite a few german words already, I spent a couple of years in Germany as a teenager. I'm only interested in speaking the language, not reading or writing it. I haven't looked at the printed version, but I found the audible version quite brilliant as I could take it, listen and learn, anywhere. Would you consider the audio edition of Learn German with Paul Noble: Complete Course: German Made Easy with Your Personal Language Coach to be better than the print version? Great!Ī very good tool for linking together the language

#Pimsleur german notes how to

EDIT: This book now comes with an accompanying PDF to teach you how to spell. Also trying to learn "excuse me" was a mess - I left thinking "enshoilitten zie? emshoiligen zie?" when the correct word is "entschuldigen sie." I also didn't get a great lesson from the numbers and alphabet, but I've since learned them from children's YouTube videos. It was hard to parse when to use den mann vs dem mann, because they sounded exactly the same through the recording. That also added to my spelling frustrations. Paul and the German lady both used dynamic microphones, so they didn't get the crystal-clear dictation from a condenser microphone, which is critical to people learning a new language. Second, I had a very hard time catching the differences between many similar-sounding words. Speaking German one thing, but as soon as you start to read it, you realize you have mostly no idea to spell anything you just learned. I have two complaints about this book though: First, you never learn spelling. Paul also does a great job of comparing English words with German words, and explaining how German grammar is more similar to King James English grammar than modern English grammar. "Ich, Ich kann, Ich kann beginnen." You learn how to say basic things about yourself, order food and drink, get a hotel room, and find directions. Rather than bogging down in verb conjugation like many formal language classes, Paul starts with the basics.

pimsleur german notes

It's a jump-start, no-nonsense way to learn German. I really loved learning German from Paul Noble.















Pimsleur german notes